Ballater couple rewarded for neighbourly help

Robert and Elsie Walker receive their award from Councillor Gurudeo Saluja.
Robert and Elsie Walker receive their award from Councillor Gurudeo Saluja.

A Ballater couple were among council tenants from across Aberdeenshire who were presented with certificates and shopping vouchers recently, in recognition of being good neighbours.

Elsie and Robert Walker, of 10 Old Station Place, Ballater, were presented with £100 of high street shopping vouchers from Aberdeenshire Council’s Social Work and Housing Committee chairman, Councillor Gurudeo Saluja, who also presented an engraved quaich to the overall winner, James Watt, of Fraserburgh.

Cllr Saluja said: “The award-winners are people who have made a real difference to others and who have helped not just their immediate neighbour but other people living in the community, and these are the people who build our communities.

“Examples include helping elderly neighbours by doing their shopping, helping with gardens, doing minor repairs, clearing snow from paths, or looking after a house while people are on holiday.

“Throughout all the nominations there was one common theme – people were only too glad to help and they did so in a friendly, neighbourly way and this was much appreciated by those around them.

“While we hear much about the problems of anti-social behaviour and neighbour disputes, actually the vast majority of people in Aberdeenshire get on well with their neighbours and live in harmony and co-operation and these awards celebrate that.”

The awards ceremony was part of an event designed exclusively for and by council tenants to celebrate achievements, discuss housing issues and elect new members of a tenant representative group.

Six tenants were selected as winners of the Good Neighbour Awards 2011 following nomination over the summer by other tenants across Aberdeenshire’s six administrative areas.

Aberdeenshire Council’s support of tenants groups is a core part of the authority’s commitment to the development of safe, sustainable and inclusive communities.