Murray’s king of the fruit and veg!

Rona Smith, member of Woodend Allotments, with her prize-winning cabbages for which she was awarded the Burgh of Banchory Trophy
Rona Smith, member of Woodend Allotments, with her prize-winning cabbages for which she was awarded the Burgh of Banchory Trophy

Provost Jill Webster presented the trophies at the Banchory Horticultural Society’s annual show held in Banchory Town hall.

She said she was very impressed with the range of exhibits which, despite the worst summer for many years, showed the resourcefulness of local gardeners.

Chairman, Duncan Menzies, said: “Despite the poor weather, which meant no chrysanthemums, no gladiola and very few dahlias, our exhibitors came up trumps as usual.

Additional entries in floral art had the committee frantically rearranging the hall layout on Thursday evening to accommodate them.

Lack of quantity in the vegetable section was made up by the quality of the exhibits. The industrial section was also good with the WRI entries up fourfold.

All in all an excellent Show and a great credit to all the exhibitors.

Special mention must go to Murray Reid from Torphins who won six trophies in the flower and vegetable sections and also to Catherine Dey from Montrose who won four trophies in the floral art section.”


Malcolm Trophy, Murray Reid, Most Points Sections 1 - 5, Banchory; Morraine Cup,Leonard Kemp,Banchory; Ferres Trophy, A Melvin, Lumphanan; Niven Trophy, William Bruce, Torphins; Kerr Rose Bowl,Murray Reid,Torphins; James Smith Perpetual Challenge Trophy, Rebeccah Stripling, Banchory; Kenwood Trophy,George McAra, Banchory; Inchmarlo Cup, Leonard Kemp, Banchory;Dungeith Perpetual Challenge Trophy,George McAra, Banchory; Dalvenie Cup, Murray Reid, Torphins; British Legion Perpetual Trophy, Murray Reid,Torphins; Durward Perpetual Challenge Cup, Murray Reid, Torphins; Provost George Wilson Trophy,Rona Smith, Banchory; Burgh of Banchory Cup,Rona Smith, Banchory; Autumn Championship for the Craig Perpetual Challenge Trophy, Donald Buchan, Aberdeen

Dahlia Society Medal,Donald Buchan, Aberdeen;Wayman Trophy, Christine Dey, Montrose; Burnett Trophy, Christine Dey, Montrose; Craig Salver, Christine Dey, Montrose;Christie Cup, Christine Dey, Montrose; Arbuthnott Trophy, Mrs C Brown, Midmar; Coutts Trophy, Brenda Stewart, Banchory; Cox Perpetual Challenge Cup, Moyra Gray, Finzean; Banchory Horticultural Challenge Salver, Maryculter WRI; The Stewart Trophy, Edna Leavitt;

Craigbhea Perpetual Challenge Cup, Iona Kellas, Dinnet; Children’s Cup, Stephanie Glendinning, Banchory; Woodend Trophy, Tyler Gauld, Banchory; Cromar Trophy, Iona Kellas, Dinnet; Kerloch Trophy, Stephanie Glendinning, Banchory