Murray steals the show at Banchory

editorial image

Torphins resident, Murray Reid, stole the show at Banchory Horticultural Society’s annual flower show last weekend by winning a total of ten trophies.

A spokesman said: “Murray did really well and we are grateful for his support. The drawback is that he will now have to spend a fair bit of his prize money on silver polish.”

Chairman Duncan Menzies said: “A big thank-you to all who took part. We know a great deal of effort goes in to setting up the show and getting the exhibits ready and we are very grateful.

“It was good to see a much increased entry in the industrial section and there was a good entry from the youngsters too.

“Karl Revel deserves our thanks too, he did a wonderful job of presenting the prizes.”

The last event for 2011 in the Society’s calendar is the AGM on Tueswday October 11th at 7.30pm in the Burnett Arms Hotel. Guest speaker will be Dr John Berry.


Malcolm Trophy - Murray Reid

Section 1 - Pot Plants

Morraine Cup - Leonard Kemp

Ferres Trophy - Alex Melvin

Niven Trophy - Alex Melvin

Section 2 - Cut Flowers

Kerr Rose Bowl - Murray Reid

James Smith Perpetual Challenge Trophy - Murray Reid

Kenwood Trophy - Murray Reid

Inchmarlo Cup - Murray Reid

Section 3 - Sweet Peas

Dungeith Perpetual Challenge Trophy - Murray Reid

Section 4 - Vegetables

Dalvenie Cup - Murray Reid

British Legion Perpetual Trophy - Murray Reid

Section 5 - Fruit - Durward Perpetual Challenge Cup - Murray Reid

Section 6 - Woodend Allotments

Provost George Wilson Trophy - Rona Smith

Burgh of Banchory Cup - Amy Holtom

Section 7 - Chrysanthemums

National Chrysanthemum Society’s Silver Medal - James Craigen

Section 8 - Dahlias

Craig Perpetual Challenge Trophy - Donald Buchan

Scolty Perpetual Challenge Trophy - A & D Davidson

Section 9 - Gladioli

Chivas Webster Cup - Amy Holtom

Section 10 - Floral Arrangement

Wayman Trophy - Christine Dey

Burnett Trophy - Christine Dey

Craig Salver - Johan White

Craig Trophy - Johan White

Christie Cup - Christine Dey

Section 11 - Industrial

Arbuthnott Trophy - Brenda Stewart

Coutts Trophy - Mrs C Brown

Cox Perpetual Challenge Cup - Mrs Sheila Pratt

Banchory Horticultural Challenge Salver - Finzean WRI

Stewart Trophy - Edna Leavitt Section 12 - Junior Plants & Vegetables

Children’s Cup - Stephanie Glendinning

Woodend Trophies - Tyler Gauld

Section 13 - Junior Industrial

Cromar Trophy - Finlay Stripling

Kerloch Trophy - Stephanie Glendinning.