Aboyne Academy -Rotary partnership

Lorraine Scott signs the charter with Ruth Powell
Lorraine Scott signs the charter with Ruth Powell

Aboyne Academy is the first corporate member of the Rotary Club of Aboyne and Upper Deeside.

The corporate membership scheme was developed by the club to enhance the close relationship that already exists between it and the academy to benefit the young people and communities of Upper Deeside.

The formal induction took place at a special club meeting when the head teacher and senior leadership team, as representatives of the school, were welcomed into the club. A partnership charter was signed by Ruth Powell, Rotary president, and Lorraine Scott, head teacher.

The senior leadership team also includes depute head teachers, Malcolm McIntyre, Michael Foy and Barry Drennan and support services co-ordinator, Dr Johnathan Holden.

The club and the academy have a long-standing and supportive relationship. Rotarians sponsor pupils to attend the annual Rotary Youth Leadership camps as well as organising the Young Photographer and Young Musician Competitions, supporting the annual prize-giving and assisting in the assessment of the Young Philanthropist Initiative.