The results are in: Ward 5 turnout down 52% in CNPA elections

editorial image
  • Ward 2: Willie McKenna
  • Ward 3: Rebecca Jane Badger
  • Ward 4: Eleanor Christina Mackintosh
  • Ward 5: Katrina Anne Farquhar

The results are in and five community representatives have been elected to serve on the board of the Cairngorms National Park Authority.

Those elected will serve on the CNPA board for the next four years.

Eleanor Christina Mackintosh, Tombreckachie Farm, Glenlivet, Ballindalloch was returned unopposed to serve in Moray (Ward 4).

Following elections by postal vote, counted at Aviemore (Wards 1, 2 and 3) and Ballater (Ward 5) on Thursday March 19, the following candidates were chosen to serve on the remaining four areas: Ward 1: David John Fallows, Top Flat, McKenzie’s Butchers, Main Street, Newtonmore.

Ward 2: Willie McKenna, 3 Dellmhor, Rothiemurchus, Aviemore.

Ward 3: Rebecca Jane Badger, Birch Bank, Carr Road, Carrbridge.

Ward 4: Eleanor Christina Mackintosh, Tombreckachie Farm, Glenlivet, Ballindalloch.

Ward 5: Katrina Anne Farquhar, Kirkstile, Logie Coldstone, Aboyne.

In Ward 5 1175 votes were cast, with a turnout of 47.4% down from 52% last time. The results were as follows: Katrina Farquhar 514 votes, David Geddes 296 votes, Simon Blackett 209 votes, Jocelyn Milne 155 votes, Spoiled votes 1 vote.

The Board of the CNPA has a clear role in setting the strategic priorities for the Park and guiding how the aims of the Park will be delivered. Board members also play a vital role in representing the National Park and the Park Authority by acting as ambassadors.

The five newly elected representatives will attend full board and Committee meetings and participate in other regular activities.