10-man Culter lift cup

editorial image

Culter took on an Inverness City side who have been denied promotion once again due to problems with the ground in the final of the North Regional Trophy at Keith last Sunday.

The two sides met in the Grill League Cup Final up at Buckie last season with Culter emerging victorious by the single goal and The Deesiders were expecting another tough test.

It was Inverness who started the brighter and should have been in front inside a minute when Paul Smith’s left hand sided cross was met by Colin Mason, whose effort was cleared off the line by James Seivwright and came to Eddie Fuller in the penalty area but his strike flashed wide of the right hand post.

The game started in furious fashion and Culter were down to 10 men after only 7 minutes after Adam Wilson kicked out at Darren Fraser and referee Alan Proctor had no choice but to send the midfielder off.

After that there was a few half chances for both teams but not really much action but Inverness had a golden chance before half time when Colin Mason’s ball found Steve Sanderson but his chipped effort wasn’t high enough to beat John Farquhar in the Culter goal.

Culter had a good chance five minutes into the second half when Darren Kelly’s ball found Jamie McAllister but his effort just went over the bar.

McAllister and McBain then linked up once again and the ball fell to George McBain on the edge of the box but McBain shot wide of the right hand post. Jamie McAllister’s lob hit the bar when put put clear by McBain but minutes later Culter went one up.

The deadlock was broken when Darren McAllister’s corner was flicked on by Seivwright to the feet of Jamie McALLISTER who turned his marker before placing it past the hapless Iain Young in the 79th minute.

Culter then made sure the trophy was going to Crombie Park in the 85th minute when Hugh ROBERTSON’s 30 yard free kick was too hot to handle for Young and screamed into the top left hand corner. A goal worthy of winning any cup. It was left to Hugh Robertson to lift the North Regional Trophy to the delight of the team and supporters.

Culter: Farquhar, McArthur, Robertson, Kelly, Seivwright, Wilson, Sim, Youngson, McWilliam, Jamie McAllister, McBain. Subs: Darren McAllister, Shand, Brown, Mountford, McKimmie, Donald, McIntosh.