Annual awards night for Culter F.C.

editorial image

Culter FC’s Annual Awards were announced at their Race Night/Season End Social in the Aberdeen Douglas Hotel on Friday June 17.

The Dick Brown Memorial Trophy – presented annually to the member who has done most for the Club other than for playing services – was won by Committee Member Mario DiMaio. Mario, who joined the Committee in September 2004, does a power of work for the Club. Mario is the Pavilion Convenor and Gatekeeper at home games. He looks after the hire of the training pitch and along with Steve Davidson deals with local Lottery Sales and the distribution of Weekly Bulletins.

The Player of the Year – Larry Barclay Trophy – was won by Hugh Robertson. Ex Aberdeen, Dundee and Ross County star joined Culter in 2008. He has been a valuable contributor to The Deesiders’ success story. Hugh was one of five Culter players named in the Junior Team of the Season.

The Supporters’ Player of the Year Trophy was also won by Hugh Robertson. It was presented by Mario DiMaio accompanied by loyal supporters Arne Bjorkvoll and John Ledingham.

General Secretary and Treasurer Albert Moir was presented with a special award for his fifty years of service with Culter FC.

Albert said: “I was taken by surprise when Club President Doug Jamieson announced an additional award to me. His wife Val presented me with a splendid solid glass trophy. It’s a beautiful souvenir marking my half century of service.”