Deeside U18s run out winners in tough battle with Ellon

Deeside's Rafe Welsh dives to make a tackle.
Deeside's Rafe Welsh dives to make a tackle.

Deeside U18s played host to Ellon and after a tough game which kept the spectators entertained throughout as the home side ran out victorious by 19 points to 17.

Deeside’s first points came after outside centre George Watt disregarded the two players supporting outside him and cut back. His strong run brought him close enough to stretch and score the try.

A second try followed when Ellon’s attempted clearance kick was charged down and Chris Ballentyne recovered the ball and crashed over. Struan Gordon added the conversion.

Throughout the first half, much of the play was in the Ellon half, with quickly recycled ball kicked deep or spread wide for wings Douglas Park and Chris Long to stretch the defence. Ellon had their chances too and finally scored with a try wide out late in the half.

Deeside responded in the best fashion, taking play deep into the Ellon 22 where skipper Tom Christie saw half a gap and squeezed over for the try. Again, Struan Gordon added the conversion.

In the second half, Ellon’s large pack dominated possession but were met with a resolute defence, with one tackle from No.8 Matthew Gordon drawing a gasp from the crowd as Deeside stepped up their efforts.

Twice Ellon crossed the Deeside try line, but the ball was held up and the danger passed. A number of injuries disrupted the Deeside team, but all stood up to the challenge. Eventually, Ellon did score a converted try to bring them sven points short of the Deeside total. Ellon stepped up the pressure and as time ran out they claimed their third try.

The Deeside defence had kept the attack out wide and the conversion proved to be too difficult, leaving a two point margin which was protected for the remaining couple of minutes.

Deeside: M. McAskil, A. Hart, J. McDonald, A. Taylor, A. Mullins, T. Christie, C. Ballentyne, M. Gordon, M. Hillier, S. Gordon, c. Long, J. Crilly, G. Watt, D. Park, R.Welsh, A. Hardman, J. McGowan, T. Mweemba, M. Dyack, P. Lamont.